Off the cuff.

Recently I have been using lots of recipes for dinner, but for years I would just throw things in a pan and cook them. This is why I can cook but not bake; I almost never follow a recipe to the letter, and often I just read a recipe and use the idea to make up my own meal. Last night was definitely an off the cuff dinner. We are entertaining this weekend, and my mind is consumed in details that I have to remember for the various meals, playdates and parties. So for dinner I didn’t plan ahead at all (breaking all my own rules), and had to wing it. I had some ground lamb in the freezer from the last time I made the lamb ragu from Cooking Light. I decided to make my own lamb ragu, using the ground lamb, some onion, some red pepper, and diced canned tomatoes. I also had leftover pasta from making the mac and cheese, so it all came together quickly. I should have added some wine to the ragu, but otherwise it was simple and satisfying.

0 Responses to “Off the cuff.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

