Special Delivery.

When my Cooking Light magazine arrives every month, I am like a child with a toy catalog (or more lately, a Halloween costume catalog). This week, I was lucky enough that it arrived on the day before my grocery trip, so I was able to shop for several new recipes. I really needed a success, because Kyra and I have been fighting it out over meals lately. I try to stick to my rules of not fighting about food, but lately she has been taking about 2 bites of her meals and announcing she is not hungry. Maybe she just had a couple off days, or maybe she is a pain in the butt. Regardless, I wanted to win her over tonight.

The recipe was chicken kebabs with creamy pesto sauce. It was easy to make – just cut the ingredients into equal sizes, and toss with a marinade of sorts. I followed the recipe closely, but you could use any veggies that have similar cooking times. I used chicken breasts, yellow pepper, red onion, and cherry tomatoes. The marinade is made of lemon juice, lemon rind, minced garlic, and olive oil. Toss it with all the kebab ingredients, and then put them on sticks. I broiled the kebabs, but you certainly could grill them. The creamy pesto sauce is really yummy. I used store-bought pesto, greek plain yogurt, fat free sour cream, and lemon juice.

I made brown rice on the side. I really am coming around on brown rice, and now almost prefer it to white. Much better texture, and holds sauce well. Here is what it all looked like:

And, Kyra loved it! She ate almost her entire plate of food without a single urging. What a gift on a Sunday night to have a peaceful dinner!

0 Responses to “Special Delivery.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

