Pink!

In honor of my lovely and charming 4.5 year old daughter, tonight’s dinner was pink. Unfortunately the color doesn’t show up that well in the photo:

This was supposed to be penne ala vodka. But I was out of vodka. Oops, got to stop hitting the bottle. In all seriousness, one time years ago when my kids were a toddler and a baby, and I was pretty much crazed and on edge and sleep deprived all the time, Marc came home and found an open bottle of vodka on the counter. He was so scared to ask what was going on, thinking I had been drinking vodka all day long while caring for two kids. Needless to say, I had made vodka sauce that day.

Today it was just a pink sauce. I threw it all together after a day of work and late kid pick-up. Onions, garlic, olive oil. Canned diced tomatoes (I would have used crushed too if I had them), parsley and oregano. Wine, or better yet, vodka if you have it. Simmer, stir in cream and parmesan cheese. I threw peas in the sauce for an extra serving of vegetables, and served a salad on the side. Finally, I had leftover smoked salmon from bagels over the weekend. I tossed that in as well.

Try serving a dinner with your child’s favorite color. It creates a level of excitement about food that will overcome any hesitant eaters.

0 Responses to “Pink!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

