Meat and Potatoes.

Although my food interests are deeply tied to my Italian roots, I did grow up in the 70’s and early 80’s. Which means that for the first 5-7 years of my life, I had a lot of typical American food. We still make fun of my mom’s casseroles, which are my main memory of food from when I was under 8. My poor mother gets a bad rap because of it (although all the casseroles were very yummy, even the “mish-mash” casserole that involved her throwing all our leftovers, rice and cheese into a casserole dish and baking), but she went on to open a gourmet restaurant and is probably the number one reason I have such varied food tastes. In the mid-80’s there weren’t that many 10 year old’s eating tabbouleh, unless they lived in Iran.

So I do try to introduce our children to foods from all around the world. They love Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Southern BBQ, French, Greek and of course, Italian. But sometimes you just want a good old-fashioned American meal.

Cue meatloaf.

And potatoes, of course.

I have blogged before about my meatloaf. I make them mini: same meatloaf mix, just bake in muffin tins rather than in a loaf pan. Changing the size and shape of this food totally revolutionizes it for kids. Kids like mini-stuff. Makes sense, because they are mini-people. I have no recipe anymore for meatloaf. I vary the type of meat I use from ground turkey to ground beef to meatloaf mix (ground veal, pork, and beef). I always throw in finely chopped vegetables like carrots, celery and onion, although I have been known to add mushrooms or peppers as well. Throw in an egg and bread crumbs, brush on BBQ sauce and ketchup, and bake.

1 Response to “Meat and Potatoes.”


  1. 1 kkjchang March 30, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    LOVE mini-meatloaves. I’m going to try it. Meat muffin? That just sounds wrong.


Leave a Reply

