I love pie.

Sometimes you just have to make a pie. Last night it was a chicken pot pie. You need a lot of time to make chicken pot pie. So I knew I had to do it on a non-working day. It is definitely worth every minute of preparation.

I vaguely used a recipe from my Bon Appetit cookbook for the filling. I roasted chicken breasts and chopped up all the vegetables early in the day. You can use any combination of vegetables, so pot pie is great for cleaning out your fridge. I used asparagus, carrots, celery, onion and peas. Then at dinner time I just had to saute everything in butter, whisk in the flour, add broth, the chicken chopped up, and finish it off with cream. It is hard to believe it can get better than that, but you throw that all in a shallow casserole dish and put a pie crust on it! I used a prepared crust because I believe strongly that life is too short to make something that Pillsbury makes perfectly well for me.

The result was nothing short of amazing. Every member of the family had two servings. Ate every bite without a single “I don’t like that” or “I don’t like this.” Marc almost wrecked the moment by trying to make them eat salad, when all I had was mixed greens with nothing else in the salad. I handed them each a single leaf of lettuce, told them to eat it and they will have tried the salad.

Crisis averted. Peace reigns. Maybe we should send some chicken pot pies to the Middle East.

0 Responses to “I love pie.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

