The Pay-Off

What better reward than a skinny cow ice cream cone?

I know you you aren’t supposed to use food as a reward, so let’s call it a bribe. My kids know that a reasonable dessert is part of a well-rounded meal. And sometimes the promise of dessert is what gets them to eat those last green beans. And that is OK with me. I have strong feelings about the cupcake nazis that live in my town: namely, I think they are crazy. If you deny kids all sweets, guess what they will want? And what will happen when they get into the real world surrounded by temptation? Food is something to be savored and loved, and if you teach negative feelings toward food, your kids will grow up without a healthy relationship toward food.

OK, end of rant. These ice cream cone faces came at the end of a great meal of Chicken with Cashews. Now, I have no idea how to really make chinese food, and I have no recipes. I just make it up, and it generally goes over very well. Here is what I did:

– cut up thinly sliced chicken breasts. Saute chicken in pan with olive oil. Sprinkle with flour to thicken the sauce.
– throw in pan any asian-ish sauce you have in the house. I used soy sauce, a teaspoon of hoisin sauce, and a sprinkle of ginger.
– steam green beans.
– put green beans and chopped cashews into the chicken mixture.
– simmer. Sauce should thicken.

I served this over brown rice and it was a huge hit.

Now I really have no idea how to cook chinese food, nor do I have any recipes. So I just play with the flavors, and use a variety of foods with those flavors. Kyra really likes asian food, so I try to get a variety in her diet by using those familiar flavors.

0 Responses to “The Pay-Off”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

