OK, I forgot. So kill me.

My mom is a Hallmark mom. No, literally, she has worked for a chain of Hallmark stores for a zillion years. Needless to say, every holiday was an event in my house growing up. My mother still decorate the entire house for Valentine’s Day, Halloween and Easter, as well as the obvious Christmas. I mean decorate. Don’t even get me started on the number of stuffed bunnies she owns.

I have brought some of that to my family’s home. I am a Hallmark child, so we decorate for every holiday. This year, I bought Barry, a rather large stuffed linen bunny, to stand in the corner of our great room. My husband named him Barry, and said he looked like a killer bunny. Needless to say, my husband did not grow up in a Hallmark family.

Which brings me to yesterday. Cinco de Mayo. One of my favorite holidays of the year. What could be wrong with a day to drink margaritas and eat guacamole? I started celebrating this holiday after my girls and I went to Cancun in spring break of our Senior year of high school. Yes, high school. What were my parents thinking??? Anyway, we all returned in one piece, and then in a super-annoying way refused to drink anything other than Mexican beer at the golf course parties we frequented. A month later, we had this Mexican holiday to celebrate. So of course my girls embraced it, and partied like Mexican rock stars.

And yesterday, I forgot. I just got back from Vegas, didn’t remember it when shopping, and then we had baseball, and I had an event to go to, and it just was off my radar. My poor children were totally denied a perfectly good holiday.  But, at least they had a delicious pasta salad. Pasta salad is a great meal because it is actually better if you make it ahead of time, and can sit around for hours. I roasted asparagus and cherry tomatoes, tossed those with mini-bowties, pesto, and arugula. I forgot to put in the goat cheese I bought, but that would have been good too. It is a great meal for nights where you will be eating in shifts, as I know most families do.

When is Memorial Day again?

0 Responses to “OK, I forgot. So kill me.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

