My Version of Kid Food.


Does she look happy? She was. Well, with dinner. Not so much with being sent to her room for talking back after dinner, sans dessert. But that is an entirely different blog.

I stole tonight’s dinner idea from some celebrity chef or newspaper or website, but I can’t remember which one. So I apologize in advance for my violations of copyright law. It was this delicious, fancy version of fish sticks. My type of kid food. Here is the very simple recipe (that I made up after reading some version of this somewhere):
– Buy tilapia filets (or any firm white fish).
– Cut in half length-wise to create finger/stick-like shape.
– Dip in pesto (home-made if you have it).
– Dip in panko bread crumbs.
– Bake. I think it took about 20 minutes and I flipped them once.

These were the best fish sticks I have ever had. Now, they can’t exactly be picked up like a stick, but who really cares when they taste so good? They are crunchy and delicious. The kids loved them, and felt like they were getting a night of “kid food.” I am sure dipping fish in pesto is not exactly healthy, but the sticks are baked, so that helps. If you make your own pesto you can control the salt as well.

We had Texas Toast (Garrett has been begging for a month) and steamed broccoli with “holiday” sauce on the side. That is how my kids say Hollandaise, and it seems appropriate because we usually save it for a holiday. Sometimes, though, it is fun to make a boring vegetable special on a random Wednesday night.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t keep you out of your room if you talk back.

0 Responses to “My Version of Kid Food.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

