Hot Mess.

Sometimes you get a random gift. The recipe we tried on Friday night for curry chicken was such a gift. A couple weeks ago my neighbor called looking for curry powder; she was making a great recipe for curry chicken but alas was out of curry. I have mentioned before how we live in a ridiculously friendly neighborhood where you really do ask your neighbor to borrow a cup of sugar. Well, I guess all of us suburbanites are going ethnic, because we have moved on from sugar to curry powder. I actually didn’t have curry powder, but knew she could make it by mixing some of the spices I did have. I turned them over as long as she promised to share the recipe.

I should probably have asked her before I shared, but here it is:

1 Apple Choppd
1 Small Onion Chopped
2 Stalks Celery Chopped
2TBL Curry Powder
Butter
3 TBL Flour
1 Carton of Chicken Broth
3 Boneless Chicken Breasts
1 Jar Mango Chutney

Boil Chicken Breasts until cooked through (10-20 min).  Melt 2 TBL of Butter into Frying Pan, saute apple, onion and celery until soft.  Add curry powder (more to taste).  Stir into vegetables.  Add flour to vegetables to make a paste.  Whisk in Chicken Broth, stir until thickened over medium heat.  Add more curry, salt & pepper to taste.  Cube chicken and then add to curry mixture.  Let simmer for 10-15 minutes.  Add 2 to 3 TBL of Mango Chutney to mixture.  Serve over rice.

I made it fairly close to the recipe, although I was out of celery. After making it once, I would probably simplify the recipe a bit. I am not sure what boiling does for the chicken, so I might cube the breasts and saute them in the pan instead. Remove and set aside the chicken, then do the veggies in the same pan.

It was really delicious and the kids ate it up: Kyra was silent (those of you who know her know this is a rare, earth-shattering event) and Garrett hummed (he hums when he likes what he is eating. He doesn’t even know he is doing it). It was fairly ugly on the plate, especially because I made roasted cauliflower on the side. So everything was yellow. 

See why I called it a hot mess? But it was really tasty so you should feed it to your kids anyway.

1 Response to “Hot Mess.”


  1. 1 Sarah Hu January 27, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    It actually looks quite delicious; although perhaps I eat a lot of ethnic food so my opinion is bias.

    I really want to try this recipe. After I go to the grocery store — I only have curry paste and those packaged curry sauces you just warm in hot water or microwave.


Leave a Reply

